Hilton Revitalisation Project

Hilton Revitalisation Project

The Department of Communities has announced the winner of the Hilton Design Competition. Congratulations to Bernard Seeber Architects!

A partnership between the Department of Communities, the Australian Institute of Architects, the Office of the Government Architect and the City of Fremantle, the competition invited the entrants to reimagine public housing and submit designs that challenge current expectations and promote variety, equity and affordability. Most of all it was about providing housing that is modest, inclusive and responsive to Hilton’s sense of place.

The competition attracted 79 entries from both emerging and established architectural practices. The jury was overwhelmed by the number of entries and impressed with the variety of the design approaches and the consistently high quality of the submissions. It genuinely made the process of shortlisting only four entries extremely difficult, but based on the creativity and innovation of the submissions the future of public housing in Hilton will be very impressive.

Communities is pleased to announce the following teams were shortlisted ​by the jury:

  • David Barr and Stephen Hicks, David Barr Architects
  • Bernard Seeber, Jonathan Strauss and Georgina Willis, Bernard Seeber Architects
  • Trent Woods, Oenone Rooksby and Olivera Nenadovic, Officer Woods Architects
  • Jennie Officer, Nicola Ball and Melita Tomic, Officer Woods Architects

Communities would like to thank everyone who participated and once again congratulate all those shortlisted.

The competition is the first step in the larger Hilton Revitalisation Project that will contribute significantly and creatively to the evolution of Hilton’s unique character. It is a fantastic opportunity to work with the Department of Communities to bring about positive change in Hilton as well as contributing new approaches to counteract unsustainable urban sprawl.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


 Related Information